Zalto something

On the Road with the Grape Guy

On the Road with the Grape Guy is a on-going feature that follows me from event to event ... I post my thoughts, feelings and reviews of what happened and what I tasted ... basically it is here that I review the events I attend and the things that thrilled me.

Ontario Wine Reviews: 38 Wines from 21 Wineries

09 Jul 2019

Not all reviews make the newsletter, there's just so many good wines and not enough space ... so every three to six months (or so) I clear out the backlog of wines ... here are the reviews that were written but until now have never seen the light of day. 

(click on the wine name to link to the full review)

Lake Erie North Shore

North 42 Degrees 2017 Pinot Noir North42Degrees

Pelee Island 2017 Cabernet Franc / Cabernet Sauvignon Lola

 

Niagara Escarpment

Fielding 2018 Sauvignon Blanc
Flat Rock 2017 Twisted White
Foreign AffairForeign Affair 2016 The Conspiracy
Foreign Affair 2016 Temptress
Henry of Pelham 2017 Pinot Noir, Estate

Megalomaniac 2016 Merlot, Big Mouth
Megalomaniac 2017 Gamay, Avant-GardeMegalomaniac WIne
Megalomaniac 2018 Sauvignon Blanc, Savvy
Redstone 2012 Meritage
Redstone 2016 Sparkling, Limestone Vineyard

Tawse 2015 Cabernet Franc, Redfoot Vineyard
TawseTawse 2016 Pinot Noir, Quarry Road Vineyard
Tawse 2017 Gewurztraminer

 

 Niagara-on-the-Lake

Arterra (by Jackson-Triggs) 2016 Epoca Arterra
Arterra (by Jackson-Triggs) 2017 Chardonnay
Arterra (by Jackson-Triggs) 2017 Pinot Noir
Chateau des Charmes 2016 Gewurztraminer, St. David’s Bench

De Simone Vineyards 2016 Riesling
Ravine Vineyard 2018 Riesling, Small Batch
Two Sisters Riverview 2016 Pinot Noir
Two Sisters 2013 Estate Red
Two Sisters 2016 Blanc de Franc

 

Prince Edward County

Closson Chase 2016 Pinot Noir, Churchside
Closson Chase 2017 Chardonnay, Vineyard Rosehall Run
Huff Estates 2016 Cuvee Peter F Huff

Rosehall Run 2016 Cabernet Franc, Single Vineyard Small Lot
Rosehall Run 2016 Merlot, Single Vineyard Small Lot
Rosehall Run 2016 Pinot Noir, Silver Fox Block – Nedelko Vineyard

 


Other Regions & Virtual Wineries

Adamo 2016 Blanc de BlancAdamo
Adamo 2016 Cabernets
Adamo 2016 Meritage
Adamo 2016 Petit Verdot, Edgerock Vineyard

Dark Horse Estate Dark Horse 2015 Cabernet-Merlot, One Horse Town
Dark Horse 2017 Chardonnay, One Horse Town
Dark Horse 2017 Riesling, Velegro Special Reserve

Rennie Estate 2016 Cabernet Franc, The Colleen Adelaide Block

 

 

Report from : Gambero Rosso Tasting 2019

08 Jul 2019

(May 2019) ... Thank goodness fro Wikipedia, which is where I cobbled this information about the Gambero Rosso Tasting held inToronto May 27, 2019 …

Gambero Rosso is an Italian food and wine magazine and publishing group founded in 1986. Its name literally translates as "red prawn" and comes from a tavern in Pinocchio where the Fox and the Cat dine. It was initially an eight-page supplement first published on December 16, 1986.

From 1987, Gambero Rosso has published a guide to Italian wine, titled Vini d’Italia, which in a short time became the most influential within Italy. It is also published in English translation under the title Italian Wines.
The Gambero Rosso wine ratings in Vini d’Italia are built up on the number of glasses (bicchieri) awarded to a wine. The highest rating is three glasses (Tre Bicchieri), and the wine guide only includes wines which are seen by the editors as "above average":

Three glasses indicate "extraordinary wines"
Two glasses indicate "very good wines"
One glass indicates "good wines"

Full details about Gambero Rosso can be found by clicking right here

During my tasting at the event these were my findings – ranked in my 5 star system – which includes a full review for four wines in the top categories (two in the 4-star and two in the 4-plus-star) they are indicated in bold.

 

Three-and-a-Half Star wines (*** ½)

Andreola 2018 Valdobbiadene Rive di Soligo Extra Dry Mas de Fer
Antico Castello 2010 Taurasi Riserva
Cantine San Marzano 2018 Il Pumo Negroamaro
Casale del Giglio 2018 Anthium Bellone
Conte Collalto NV Incrocio Manzoni Moscato Extra Dry Violette
Ferrari NV Trento Brut Rosé
Fiamberti 2013 Buttafuoco Storico V. Sacca del Prete
La Guardiense 2018 Falanghina del Sannio Janare
Monteci 2014 Valpolicella Classico Superiore Ripasso
Ottela 2017 Lugana Le Creete
Poggio La Noce 2016 Gigino
Poggio Le Volpi 2017 Primitivo di Manduria Lu Rappaio – Masca del Tacco
Sorelle Bronca Valdobbiadene Brut Particella 68
Tenuta Gorghi Tondi 2018 Meridiano
Varvaglione 2017 12e Mezzo Primitivo
Vargaglione 2017 12e Mezzo Negroamaro


Three-and-a-Half Plus Star wines (*** ½+)

Aldegheri 2016 Valpolicella Ripasso Classico Superiore Santambrogio
Amalia Cascina in Langa 2016 Langhe Rossese Bianco
Borgo Conventi 2017 Collio Sauvignon
Cantine del Notaio 2013 Aglianico del Vulture Il Sigillo
Conte Collalto 2018 Conegliano Valdobbiadene Brut San Salvatore
Famiglia Conttini-Monte Zovo 2014 Amarone della Valpolicella
Ferrari 2013 Trento Brut Perle
Garesio 2015 Barolo Cerretta
Giacomo Borgogno & Figli 2013 Barolo Cannubi
La Guardiense 2015 Sannio Aglianico Lucchero
La Guardiense 2017 Falanghina del Sannio Janare Senete
Poggio La Noce 2015 Gigio
Poggio Le Volpi 2015 Primitivo di Manduria Piano Chiuso Riserva – Masca del Tacco
Reva 2015 Barolo Ravera
Reva 2017 Barbera d’Alba Superiore
Reva 2017 Nebbiolo d’Alba
Ridolfi 2017 Rosso di Montalcino
Sorelle Bronca NV Valdobbiadene Brut
Tenuta Gorghi Tondi 2018 Nero d’Avola Coste a Preola
Torrevento 2015 Since 1913 Primitivo
Valle Reale 2018 Cerasuolo d’Abruzzo
Velenosi 2015 Rosso Piceno Superiore Roggio del Filare


Four Star wines (****)

Aldegheri 2013 Amarone della Valpolicella Classico Santabrogio
Andreola 2018 Valdobbiadene Brut Dirupo
Cantine San Marzano 2015 Primitivo di Manduria Sessantanni
Casale del Giglio 2017 Cesanese
Giacomo Borgogno & Figli 2011 Barolo Riserva
Tenuta di Arceno 2013 Valadorna
Varvaglione 2016 Primitivo di Manduria Papale Linea Oro


Four Star Plus wines (****+)

Cantine San Marzano 2017 Primitivo di Manduria Talo
Tenuta di Arceno 2013 Arcanum

 

Get Our Newsletter

Follow Us on Social Media

Facebook Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Google+ tumblr