San Salvatore

On the Road with the Grape Guy

Report from - Ontario Wine Awards ... and the winners are ... – May 4, 2012

05 May 2012

The 18th Annual Ontario Wine Awards were held Friday night at the Queen's Landing Inn in  Niagara on the Lake hosted by the Szabo brothers (only in name)L John and Zoltan. I would have to say from a meal perspective this was probably one of the finest in recent memory.

Big winners this evening were Creekside, winning four Golds for Viognier, Sauvignon Blanc, Syrah and Blended Red; their winemaker Rob Powewr also took the Larry Paterson Award.  Vineland clean swept the two Riesling categories - meaning they took Gold in both; while Inniskillin did the same in the Icewine category.  Konzelmann also took home two Golds (Late Harvest and Gewurztraminer). Cattail Creek took the honour of Red Wine of the Year with their Gold medal winning (earlier in the evening) 2007 Reserve Cabernet Merlot and white wine honours went to Inniskllin's 2008 Riesling Icewine.  Surprisingly there were no Golds issued for Gamay, and a little less surprising Cabernet Sauvignon.

Winemaker of the Year was given to Andrzej Lipinski of Colaneri (as well as Organized Crime and Burning Kiln) ... his thank you speech was short, sweet and to the point,    Finally, the Wine Journalism Award went to Michael Pinkus (yes me) - I'd give you his credentials but something tells me you might already know them ... thanks for reading everyone.

And the Gold Medal winning wines are …
The rest of the winners, in the silver and bronze categories, can be found at

Sparkling Wine –
Grange of Prince Edward County 2008 Brut

Dry Riesling –
Vineland Estates 2009 Dry Riesling

Semi-Dry Riesling –
Vineland Estates 2009 St. Urban Riesling

Dry White Varietal –
Creekside Estate 2010 Viognier Reserve
*the 2009 version of this wine won last year - gotta love consistency

Gewurztraminer –
Konzelmann Estate 2010 Gewurztraminer Late Harvest

Pinot Blanc / Pinot Gris –
Henry of Pelham Family Estate 2011 Pinot Grigio

Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon –

Creekside Estate 2010 Sauvignon Blanc Reserve

Oaked Chardonnay (under $20) -
Inniskillin 2010 Winemaker's Series Montague Vineyard Chardonnay

Oaked Chardonnay (over $20) -
Niagara College Teaching Winery 2009 Dean's List Chardonnay
Exultet Estates 2010 The Blessed Chardonnay
*Exultet won this category last year

Unoaked Chardonnay –

Chateau des Charmes 2010 Chardonnay Musque

Rosé / Blanc de Noir -
Sue-Ann Staff Estate 2011 Rosé

Gamay –
No Gold Awarded

Pinot Noir –
Coyote's Run Estate 2009 Red Paw Vineyard Pinot Noir

Red Hybrid –
Malivoire Wine Company 2010 Old Vines Foch

Cabernet Sauvignon –
No Gold Awarded

Cabernet Franc –
Lailey Vineyard 2010 Cabernet Franc - unfiltered

Merlot –
Tawse 2008 David's Block Merlot

Syrah/Shiraz –

Creekside Estate 2008 Broken Press Syrah Reserve

Meritage and Cabernet/Merlot Blends –
Cattail Creek Estate 2007 Reserve Series Cabernet Merlot
*winner of the Red Wine of the Year Award

Late Harvest –
Konzelmann Estate 2010 Special Select Late Harvest Vidal

Vidal Icewine –
Inniskillin 2007 Oak Aged Vidal Icewine
*Inniskillin won this category last year

Vinifera Icewine –
Inniskillin 2008 Riesling Icewine
*winner of the White Wine of the Year Award

Blended Red Award –

Creekside Estate 2010 Cabernet Shiraz
*fourth year in a row a Creekside property has won this award

Blended White Award –
Henry of Pelham Family Estate 2010 Family Tree White

Best Label Design Award –
Diamond Estates - The Winery 2010 NHL Alumni Hat Trick

Larry Paterson Innovation in the Vineyard Award -

Rob Power of Creekside Estate Winery

Winemaker of the Year -
Andrzej Lipinski - Colaneri Estate Winery

Wine Journalism Award -

Michael Pinkus -
*not kidding, I won

To read about more interesting adventures thru the world of wine check out the On the Road With the Grape Guy blog.


Get Our Newsletter

* indicates required
San Salvatore

Follow Us on Social Media

Facebook Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Google+ tumblr